6/8/2018 7:52:59 AM

Progressive Conservative Leader Doug Ford is Ontario's next Premier. The Conservatives are forming a majority government and local voters seem to share support for the PC's as Huron-Bruce Conservative candidate Lisa Thompson was reelected. Huron-Bruce's Lisa Thompson got 27,646 votes while second place Jan Johnstone got just over 15 thousand. Thompson was ecstatic after learning she won her re-election bid.

    Thompson says that locally there are two priorities including ensuring no time is lost on natural gas expansion near Kincardine, and the family health team in Zurich and their funding.

    Thompson says she is happy to be apart of Doug Ford's party in any way.

    myFM caught up with the second place candidate in Huron-Bruce Jan Johnstone who says despite the loss she believes seeds were planted for the NDP in the next election.

    Third place candidate Liberal Don Matheson meanwhile tells myFM that a Conservative majority scares him.

    In other election night, news former Liberal Premier Kathleen Wynne resigned as the Liberal Leader and the Green Party Leader Mike Schreiner convincingly won the parties first-ever provincial seat. Progressive Conservative Leader Doug Ford is Ontario's next Premier.    

Back to News

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved.

This site powered by PromoSuite Interactive